Go Get ‘Em, Rachael!

 

Rachael is a powerhouse of energy and one of the biggest supporters of her young adult cancer community. From the start of her diagnosis, even before Dr. Kanwar explained anything to her parents, Rachael wanted to be included. She needed to know everything about her disease, and she didn’t want it sugar coated. She was 16 years old and was ready to fight. Rachael was more concerned with comforting her parents and insisted on being the one to tell her little brother and all her friends. She took on that responsibility and always thinks of others before herself.

This take charge attitude has served Rachael very well. In addition to it helping her heal and be three years in remission, Rachael took on the responsibility of raising money and awareness for children and young adults battling cancer. Since Rachael was diagnosed, she has started a fundraiser called Trending 4 Fashion. Not only does this event currently raise money for The Melodies Center, but it also gives children an opportunity to dress up and walk the runway. They are often paired with the staff at the clinic, which builds and even deeper connection and allows everyone to let loose a bit.

Rachael knows what she wants in life, she knows that cancer has changed her path in life. Here are her words:

Most importantly, I want people to know that everyone’s fight is different. Even though two people may be diagnosed with the exact same diagnosis does not mean that those two people will handle it the same way.

Personally for me, I never wanted to be looked at like a victim. I never wanted people to feel bad for me and feel bad for what I was going through. Obviously being diagnosed with cancer was one of the hardest things I’ve ever been through, but what I continuously told myself was “it is what it is.” I found that there was no point in harping on the fact that it happened, because at the end of the day it did, and the only other thing left to do was fight. I tried to focus all of my energy and thoughts on that fight by taking one step at a time, getting through those eight hours of chemo and not thinking about the next day until it came.

And while I say all of this and truly mean it, that does not mean that I never had “bad days.” I’m still human, and I was still dealing with something that literally changed my life forever. But with that being said I would never take back what happened to me. Being diagnosed helped me learn who I truly am and who I want to be. It taught me lessons at such a young age of what is truly important in life. It brought me to Ithaca College where I’ve made the best of friends, it’s brought me many opportunities that I am forever thankful for and has brought me to meet and get to know so many other survivors that are truly inspiring.

 

While I have now been cancer free for almost four years, the support from my friends, family and community both while I was in treatment and even now, four years later, is truly what has given me strength and hope. I would not have been able to make it through without those people who never let me down and never let me forget to fight.

Thank you, Rachael, for taking a devastating diagnosis and paying it forward to those that helped you. Not only do you help the clinic, but you empower others going through this battle to never give up. You are truly a role model and an inspiration to so many.

 

 

Leave a Reply

