Sustaining a Foundation

Tonight was the Southern Saratoga Relay for Life at Shenendehowa High School track. For the past five years, members of Nick’s Round Table, our family and so many other families affected by cancer have attended. Stephen enjoys being with his friends and remembering his brother in such a supportive environment.
This is the first time since we have been attending Relay for Life that we couldn’t go, because of Stephen’s soccer commitment. We are in New Jersey and missing everyone at this event. The picture of the luminaria was sent to me and it made me cry. Relay for Life is so emotional and I always feel that I need to be there. It’s very hard for me to not be in control of an event, which I’m working on! I should not have worried. My good friends remember Nick lit with love. 
I’m sure the event ran smoothly under the command of Captain Katie Collins who not only took care of getting people to sign up for the event and volunteer, but made sure everything was set up. Annette Romano and Karen Patchell over saw the event, while Rachael Murray and her mom celebrated Rachael’s positive day at the clinic. Nick was remembered and his legacy is continued by others so that I could be with Stephen at his soccer tournament.
Nick’s Fight to be Healed Foundation prospers because of these amazing people who are willing to take the time to be at an event that means just as much to them as it does to me and my family. The foundation is strong because of survivors like Ben Mayo who share their story and connect to others.
Tonight I thank everyone who attended the Relay for Life and I’m sad I didn’t get to see Brianna Dioses and the other Round Table Alum! I am blessed to have a community that not only supports our mission, but personally supports our family.

Leave a Reply

