I Have Known

I have known pain deep enough to gash my skin to the bone and leave an aching residue of grief torn malaise. I have known loss that chills my soul so that warmth is as unknown as happiness. I feel the ache in different places, but the vast hole in my heart continues to crumble outward with the fear that my whole body will fall away into oblivion. I fear that there is nothing left to hang on to.

Then I see him. A little boy whose smile captured me from the moment its brilliance lit upon my soul. The goodness his spirit evokes and the effervescence of his soul bubbles up so that my chasm of emptiness fills. It overflows in hope and I remember that I have known the greatest love.

Leave a Reply

